Beautiful Coincidence

The heavens declare the glory of God,
and the sky above[a] proclaims his handiwork.
Psalm 19:1

Eclipse 2017 is on the books. For most of the country, it was a celestial event that won’t soon be forgotten; an event many of us may not ever see again in our lifetime.

So how special was it, really?

Yes, it was an event that doesn’t happen every day, although an eclipse of some sort happens in our world more often than we realize. But every time it happens, people stand in awe. Astronomers and those with more knowledge than I say the moon is traveling away from the earth and in a few million years, earth probably will not even have the type of total solar eclipse we just saw because the moon and sun will not be perfectly aligned in size.

But for now, what are the odds of the moon and sun appearing nearly the same size from earth’s perspective? There are mathematical calculations that have to do with angular size that are far above my pay grade, but they explain the coincidence of how the moon can appear to be the same size when calculating angular size in relation to distance from the sun.

To further make your brain hurt is the statistic that the sun’s diameter is about 400 times larger than that of the moon. Add to that, the sun is about 400 times farther away from the moon. This results in the sun and moon appearing nearly the same size as we stand on earth and view into the heavens; which is why we are privileged to periodically witness a total eclipse of the sun.

The closest comparison of what we experienced yesterday may be duplicated on Saturn with one of its moons, Titan. I’m not sure that counts, as no one can stand on Saturn. Earth is the only known planet where living beings are able to enjoy this type of celestial display.

A beautiful coincidence?

Guess that depends on what worldview a person holds. Personally, I don’t believe in coincidence when viewed as events or discoveries that seemingly happen completely at random. And, I’m not talking about the person sitting beside you who is wearing a hat, or watch or the same kind of shoes. I’m talking about “coincidence” on a much larger scale. There is a magnificent order to things in the universe, our world and within each of our bodies. And, I believe, that is by design.

God is not susceptible to proofs and disproofs. If you believe, the evidence is all around you. If you don’t believe, no evidence can be enough. 
~Andrew Klavan, The Great Good Thing: A Secular Jew Comes to Faith in Christ

Yesterday’s event was jaw-dropping awesome. Unless I travel, I will probably not be privy to another one that can be witnessed close to where I live. For me, I’ll be eternally thankful that the God who set these mathematical specifications in place did so on the only planet known to humankind that could actually enjoy it.

Beautiful coincidence.

Playing along with others over at Peabea’s Pictorial Tuesday.

6 thoughts on “Beautiful Coincidence

  1. I love the way that you describe the events of the eclipse. I also saw a good graphic that said yesterday people stood together in awe of something spectacular, and when I read that, I thought how insightful our God really is to have, after all the events of the week-end prior in Charlottesville, such a display that brought so many people together in spots to view something in total darkness and they cheered and were peaceful. Even if some don’t think so, I’m picturing God was smiling as the cheers went up for His amazing world/creation. I think that an eclipse after 38 years was in the plan all along and no coincidence because God knew it would be the right time for one. I like your Andrew Klavan quote. Very good. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am so glad you had this experience, Lisa!
    We were not in the direct path, but I could tell when it was happening because the light outside changed dramatically. It didn’t get dark, it just changed, and it was unmistakable.
    xo.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “There is a magnificent order to things in the universe, our world and within each of our bodies. And, I believe, that is by design.”

    Absolutely agree, Lisa! And I believe that not only about the eclipse earlier this week, but also whenever I look up at a beautiful sunrise or sunset – I’m in AWE!

    The picture you shared of the total eclipse is STUNNING! Well done and BRAVA!

    Have a great rest of your week, my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

Thank you for taking time to comment. I appreciate each and every one.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.