Lessons from a canyon

As so often is the case, nature teaches us valuable lessons about ourselves and life. When I witness the awesomeness of nature….from grand to minuscule, I seem to always look for how this impacts my life. And, I cannot look at anything in nature and not see the Creator’s hand at work.

Recently, Entrepreneur and I visited the Grand Canyon. You may have seen some of the photos I took HERE.

The canyon hold more than just a view of a hole carved into the landscape. What struck me most about it was the stillness amidst the strength. Away from the Oooos and Awwwws of the tourists’ reactions, there is no noise. The canyon meets you in silence. It doesn’t care what your reaction is to its majesty. It forces you to remove yourself from the center of attention and focus on the connection. And that connection is to be still. Let go of the anxiety and business of life. Be still. Mindless distractions fade away. Feel the peacefulness. Be still.

He says, “Be still, and know that I am God;
~Psalm 46:10

When I think about the violent, destructive forces that formed this beautiful scene, my mind is overwhelmed. The raging force of the Colorado River carving its way through solid rock is a visual that instills both terror and respect. So too, violent forces shape our lives in ways we may or may not realize. The solid rock was not able to stop the inevitable reshaping of its appearance. Once finished, true colors were revealed and a different kind of beauty emerged. Beauty that includes jagged, scared surfaces as well as those worn smooth by the relentless elements of nature. Beauty that changes as the sun and shadows wash over its surface. Much like us, the canyon’s beauty lies in its past experiences. Challenges, turmoil and struggle make the canyon what it is today. Our struggles, tragedies and challenges have created who we are. We should wear our scars as a sign of strength.

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.
~2  Corinthians 12:9-11

When the violent waters receded, it appears to have left an empty gorge. Negative space. But that space is there for a reason. Often, we feel empty, like something or someone has carved out a gaping hole in our lives. While there is beauty in that negative space, it can now be filled with something else. Gaping holes don’t need to remain empty.

And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.
Ephesians 3:17-19

And there within our gaping holes and jagged edges, opportunities begin.  Opportunities to make life sweeter and more beautiful. Yes, it will be hard and it will seem like the odds are stacked against us to prevail. But we must always try.

As with so many other things in life, I’m thankful nature seems to always meet me in the voids of life with so much wisdom. Playing along with Thankful Thursday over at Brian’s Home.

4 thoughts on “Lessons from a canyon

  1. Lisa, this is such a beautifully expressed post. You’re right, it’s impossible to look at anything in and not see the Creator’s hand at work – a canyon, a mountain, a tree, a flower, a sky.

    And I LOVE how you said this because it’s sooooooooooo true….”Our struggles, tragedies and challenges have created who we are. We should wear our scars as a sign of strength.” Yes! Yes! Yes! And that’s how I feel about aging too, our faces are like the maps of where we’ve been.

    Wonderful post, my friend. I enjoyed it so much, I read it twice!

    Have a lovely weekend! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Thank you for taking time to comment. I appreciate each and every one.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.