October Photo Challenge: Close Up

photo blog challenge

Over at A ‘lil Hoo Haa, PJ’s theme this month is Close Up. While I don’t own a macro lens, I do own PhotoShop sooooo…..with a bit of cheating, I’m able to participate again this month. Honestly, the biggest complaint I have with the little digital camera I have now is that it refuses to focus when I’m too close to an object. My DSLR shot craps last year and I was talked into replacing it with a smaller digital camera that wasn’t so “intimidating-looking” for others to use. And, “it would be easier to tote around on vacays”….yada, yada, yada. That part is true, but I really dislike it on many levels. But, I don’t have an extra grand plus to spend for a new DSLR and lenses.

But enough ranting. In lieu of a macro lens, I must concentrate on focusing on the shot I really want and then crop to what I envision in my mind’s eye. While I love a good landscape shot, there is something about macro photography that forces the eye to really see detail. And there is an endless supply of detail to appreciate in our world.

Time to get up close and personal.

Close Up 1: ‘Tis the Season for cinnamon spice and everything nice. Autumn is my favorite season. The colors, smells and textures of the season screams comfort to me. And not a moment too soon. It’s been a helluva year.
pumpkin

Close Up #2: Beauty from destruction. While the end result of a summer listening to cicadas can be lovely, it’s a reminder that this type of beauty (like magic for all you Once Upon a Time fans) always comes with a price.
lacey leaf

Close Up #3: Autumn I-Dos: Autumn weddings can be gorgeous. We attended an outdoor wedding the first part of the month and the weather was perfect. Peanut was the flower girl and The Investigator was an attendant. The colors were deep purple, green and gold.
wedding boquet

CloseUp #4: The nights are nippy now and the trees are pretty much past their peak color. Soon the winds will begin to blow and all the leaves will be gone. Then we go into “brown season.”
green-red leaf

This one is not as close as I’d like, but it will have to do.

Close Up #5: Wooly Winter: We saw the first wooly worm caterpillar at a pumpkin festival and, thankfully, it was mostly brown….indicating most of the winter will be relatively mild. However, this contracts the Old Farmer’s Almanac that states this winter will be brutally cold with lots of snow. Hmmmm……who to believe.
wooly worm

Pop on over to PJ’s tomorrow, October 30th, and get up close and personal with what others shared this month.

 

19 thoughts on “October Photo Challenge: Close Up

  1. I think your close ups are just fine. I have the same camera conflict that you have – love the ease of my little Panasonic Lumix, but sometimes hunger for the product of husband’s old Rebel. Reality is I know the size of the Rebel is greater than I’m willing to carry.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great job!

    I was shooting my photos on a camera phone, so I hear you on being annoyed at not having better equipment.

    Your shots are beautiful though!

    My favorite is the leaf. My parents maple trees look have leaves that look like swiss cheese due to a bug infestation this year. Hoping it didn’t kill the trees.

    Like

  3. Well, the challenge was for closeup, not necessarily macro and your approach of focus first, crop second worked really well. I can relate to your frustration about not being able to focus from short distances, though.

    I keep looking for leaves where the skeleton is showing. I’ve only ever seen one in the wild and it wasn’t complete. What a great find you made…and what a great photo, too.

    Like

  4. Hellooooooo there Lisa!

    I am slowly making my way back to blogging, so I wanted to stop by to say HI and also catch up on your latest post. Each and every one of these close up photographs are STUPENDOUS!
    I love them all, however, Close Up #2: Beauty from destruction REALLY blew me away! WELL done on this theme, my friend!

    Have a super-duper week!

    X

    Like

  5. Great job as always. That last one made me smile! And the pumpkin… nicely done. I like the crop on it.

    Now.. as for your original part about a DSLR. If you already have a lens or two from your last DSLR, wouldn’t you just need a body. They can be had for much cheaper! 🙂

    Like

Thank you for taking time to comment. I appreciate each and every one.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.